We have Spanish, French, and Farsi speaking translators available for our clients upon request.


We have Spanish, French, and Farsi speaking translators available for our clients upon request.

How Does Maryland Law Address Hit and Run Traffic Accidents?

Latest News

What Are Maryland’s Laws Regarding Hit and Run Traffic Accidents?

Maryland law is clear that someone involved in a traffic accident who leaves the scene is in the wrong. When apprehended, the hit and run driver can have 8 to 12 points put against their driver’s license. If only property damage is involved, the hit and run could lead to a fine of up to $500 and 60 days in jail. But if another person is seriously injured, the consequences are much more severe. That’s a felony crime that could result in up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. If another person dies as a result of the accident, the hit and run driver could earn up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. A suspended license is another likely outcome.

What Should People Do if They’re in a Traffic Accident in Maryland?

The laws state that anyone in a traffic accident that leads to property damage, bodily injury, or death must stay at the accident site until the following have been completed.

  • Call law enforcement to file a police report and, if applicable, request medical care for any injured party.
  • While waiting for emergency response, provide reasonable assistance to the injured party.
  • Exchange names, contact, and insurance information with everyone else involved in the accident (but don’t discuss the accident with them–see more on that below).
  • Provide any information requested by law enforcement, including identification or driver’s license.
    If anyone else involved in the accident is unable to exchange information, contact law enforcement immediately and provide your information to them.

It is Possible to Track Down a Hit and Run Driver?

The fact that the driver who may have caused the accident and injuries left the scene rather than following the law and doing the right thing can be one of the most frustrating aspects of being a hit and run victim. There are many reasons someone may not stop even though they’re required to. They may have panicked; they may have a warrant for their arrest on some other charge; they may have immigration issues they worry will be worsened by the accident; they may have been driving without a license or while under the influence. It can be easy to think the driver will never be caught.

But that’s not always the case. In today’s digital world, it’s not always easy to remain hidden. Here are some steps to take to try and find the person who caused the injury. Keep in mind that it’s best to work with professionals (including police and attorneys) on this rather than take matters into your own hands. There are often legal requirements and protocols that must be followed. If they’re not, it’s possible that good evidence won’t be usable.

Call law enforcement immediately. It’s the law for an accident with injuries, but it’s also true that the sooner law enforcement is made aware, the better chance they have of tracking the errant driver down.

Take photos and videos if you’re able. It’s possible law enforcement will do this as well, but it never hurts to have additional evidence of the accident site. That includes damage to your vehicle, skid marks on the road, etc. A photo of the car leaving the scene could potentially provide the license plate number, which law enforcement can use to track down the car and its owner.
With the assistance of your lawyer or police, see if there are security cameras on nearby homes or businesses that may have filmed the accident.

Seek medical help. Even if you think your injuries are minor, it’s vital to have them checked by a medical professional. There are injuries, including significant ones, that exhibit few symptoms but can worsen if left untreated. It’s also valuable to the case in the future, as if you wait until much later to be seen by a doctor, the other driver could claim that you weren’t injured by the accident but by something that happened afterward.

Use of evidence. It’s possible to use some evidence, such as a description of the car that left the scene, on social media or other community resources such as Nextdoor. However, don’t do this without the advice and support of your attorney. Online posts can be used as evidence against you if they can be interpreted as meaning something other than what you intended. It’s tempting to go online right away and start posting, but it’s best to have legal advice in hand before proceeding.

What Should I Do if I Was Injured in a Hit and Run Traffic Accident in Maryland?

Call Tehrani Law, LLC, as soon as possible at 301-973-6510 to request a free consultation. Our team of experienced, knowledgeable personal injury attorneys understands how traumatic and frustrating this is for you. It’s a complex situation, and we’ll help you determine the path forward to the best possible outcomes.

If the other driver is located, it’s vital you don’t enter into communications with them, their lawyer, or their insurance representative. Because of Maryland’s contributory negligence laws, they’ll want to find a way to assign any blame onto you to avoid paying damages. They might also try to convince you to sign an agreement for a much lower settlement than you should. Don’t respond; simply forward communications to your attorney.

Related Articles